Response to Bard

Bard’s v-blog was not exactly what I had expected. I read the “How to be an Ally Not a Jerk” post before watching it, and I realized that I already made a pre-conceived judgement just from the text. Immediately after reading the post, I felt as though I had done many things wrong, not only in cases with autistic people. but with all disabled people in general. I felt that the writing was accusatory and angry, and did not give a clear suggestion on how to improve behavior, rather than to not do certain things. It seemed like it was asking people to just leave autistic people alone.

However, after watching his video post, I feel almost like I could connect with him. He reminds me of my good friend (which I’m sure he would not be happy to hear me say-since he expressed he does not like to be compared) but I mean it as a genuine compliment. Something that struck me was when he was describing how his boyfriend treats him, and how much he appreciates when people admit that they do not understand him but simply have a desire to help. I am going to post on his comments: “What do you suggest is the most humble and least intrusive way to help?” He gives a lot of advice on what not to do, but I would like advice on what action is possible to take. He really is quite poetic.

“If you want to be an ally, be aware of your privilege be ware of the gaps, don’t ignore them. Encourage our voices, and make them stand out in the chorus of opposition and hate.” -Bard 

Leave a Reply

